Pricing and options on entry level setup

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pricing and options on entry level setup

I know you guys probably get this all the time, but I couldnt find a thread that was exactly what I was looking for. Im completely new to all of this, as in Ive considered it before but I only really started planning today. Im curious how much it would cost me to run a pretty basic setup, I want general media interface (probably use that program on this site, it looked pretty nice), hopefully gps navigation, and all completely touch screen up front. I have built numerous computers, I do lots of 12volt installtion, I can do all the soldering and everything, is there anything like damping protection or anything that I should know about? I was also curious what running audio through a carputer does to quality? if Im running a pretty high end component set and in most cases Im a big sq (sound quality) fanatic, would I be unimpressed? Thanks for everything, you guys on this site know so much and you will be the gods of this domain when carputers hit it big.

p.s. if anybody has a setup running in an expedition please let me know Ill be putting it in a 99 eddie bauer and Im curious about mounting options and such

I guess it depends on what you mean by "entry level"
    [H]4 Life
    My next generation Front End is right on schedule.
    It will be done sometime in the next generation.
    I'm a lesbian too.
    I am for hire!

Comment

If by basic you mean, GPS, Touch screen, M10k in a case, RAM, Laptop HD, on-board sound, USB radio, Opus PSU, amplifier, wiring, relays, XP, GPS software, etc... you should figure ~$1k +/- a couple hundred, assuming you do the install yourself and you shop well.

You cannot trust that damn monkey. He just hangs around here and talks about the vaporware versions of the front end he is coding. I don't even think he has a carpc.
      2004 4runner

Comment

Originally posted by rando