was about ready to start

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• was about ready to start

so after hour's of research i was about ready to start my car pc project. i was going to buy a micro atx with a p4 1.4 gig (the p4 that only uses 38 watts). since i was a computer tech i still have tons of pc parts around my house. i had a dvd rom, laptop hard drive, one 512 ddr ram chip. now i think i took care of most of the cash problems. and then i check the price of the opus 150 watts (that everyone talks about) and the 7 ince touch screen and thoes 2 parts by them self is $500 . i was like WTF. in a home pc the power supply and the monitor are some of the cheapest parts! so my car pc project is dead now. i CANT pay that much for thoes parts. ill have to wait till these parts drop in price (by more than 60%)

Yeah, it can be expensive to buy a lot of this stuff brand new and to get your "dream" carputer, but it doesn't mean you have to drop the whole project. There are so many different, creative, and cheaper routes that can be taken. If you're a computer tech then you should have the know how and the ability to get something decent together. Just look through the forums and see what the people are doing. Try e-bay, surplus houses or (<---sorry, always wanted use that one) etc. You might have to make a few concessions, e.g. an inverter vs. an OPUS. Myself, I'm using an inverter ($30) until the time I can feel OK about dropping the cash for an OPUS. It's not the most convenient or elegant solution, but it works. In the meantime, I have (kinda, it's getting there) a carputer that works and I'm haviing fun with it.

Comment