Cold and Heat?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cold and Heat?

Would the cold and heat have any effect on hard drive or other components in a mini computer? I'm advanced in computers, but I am a newbie when it comes to car computers. I would think that if you're using it in the winter, which is like right now, the drives would freeze overnight or if sitting for a long time.... What do some of the more experienced people here think?

Also one of my cars is a Hatchback Civic and could I potentially just install a regular computer in there? Is the reason for "mini" computers space, or is it power or what? If the issue is power, could I just run a line from the battery or alternator to another battery in the back? If someone knows of a site that details this it would be appreciated as I don't know a lot about cars.

Thanks in advance!

Jesse

How exactelly could your drive freeze? There is nothing inside of them that will freeze at any temp they would ever see....
    And if you can find the space I would just use a MircoATX board... they are a lot cheaper than really tiny ITX boards.

As far as the battery thing goes... seems like you would just be able to run another one off of the original battery but i'm trying to find out for sure myself.
    SpudFiles

Comment

Well, to the contrary, the newer technology end of the hard drive use FDR (Fluid Dynamic Bearrings (SP?)). Not sure, but they are rated 5 Deg Celsius and up. Though, from previous posts, it seems like users in more colder area's currently don't have problems, and users who already went thru the winter problems seem to still have working drives, so its not that big of an issue.
      Mark

Car'Puter Project
      - Xenarc 700TSV
      - MSI RS482M-IL Mobo + AMD Turion MT-32 (25W)
      - 1x 256MB Corsair XMMS DDR400
      - M2-ATX
      - Belkin 802.11G W-Nic
      - Garmin 15H GPS
      - WinXP SP2 (NLited)

Comment