Project Car needed some gearheads on Carputer

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Project Car needed some gearheads on Carputer

Ok I am a complete newbie when it comes to the carputers, I've read and so far I know I will have to get myself a opus PSU

now I got a few questions for you guys.

We are developing a project car that is going to be running around 700-900whp. the car will be tracked and autocrossed.

What does this have to do with it?

Well we are planning on using the carputer to interface with the electromotive Tec 3 unit ( standalone) as well as act as our media console for a webcam/wireless communications with the homebase.

The car's headunit + PIE connector will act as our RCA out for audio.

Why not a laptop? simple reasons, being that this is a full blown car, we want to have everything as integrated as possible plus we want to make it look cool for shows.

So here are my questions:

Getting a Opus 150 PSU will the following components be a good investment?

1. VIA EPIA-V10000A PLE133 VIA 1GHZ CPU,1PCI,1DIMM,10/100 LAN AUDIO VIDEO USB UDMA 100 MINI-ITX OEM

2. 256-512 megs of RAM

3. some sort of harddrive ( any recommendations? ) would a laptop HD with a IDE converter necessary?

4. xenarc display.
    5. some sort of wireless communications via either ethernet or USB. we need at least 1 mile out of this.

6. DVD/CDRW?

Will this operate properly? or what are your recommendations..

Please remember we are trying to keep costs down and we are not ready to go and drop over 1k on this.

I been researching a lot on motherboards and the VIA VPSD seems to be the best way to go since we are going to be placing this on a 10X10" area.

Here is the picture of where its going to be placed ( see attached)

any recommendations it would be great. I know there are something on the search feature..

But remember this is a diffrent ball park carputer as this carputer will be stressed sometimes with acceleration and decelleration
    thanks!