Mini ITX in car stereo?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mini ITX in car stereo?

I am new to this mini itx thing, however I build computers so know what I am doing in that respect.

I would like to have a pc in the car, primarily for sat nav reasons. I had a thought of whether you could squeeze a mini itx system into a gutted out car radio/stereo using the mini snap in dc converter, a tiny hard disc, and tiny cd-rom? Any thoughts? If you couldn’t squeeze it in do you think you could squeeze in this new nano itx board in the same way when it finally comes out? I already have one of those 7” screens and they are great!

Any feedback would be much appreciated

Regards

Lawrence

Maybe you could.... but there are cases that are 1 din, which is basically the size of a car stereo... why not use one of those with a slot-load dvd drive, and then you have it all....
    Roy

2005 Range Rover 4.4
    Any ideas for putting a PC in this? :)

Comment

careful though.. none of them are less than 10" deep
      few dashes are more than 8 ish
      •Micke

Comment

I was staring at my car stereo this morning, and I reckon its big enough. Mine is only the standard single height stereo (is that what 1 din means?)
        Also I think I have a bit of extra room behind the stereo if I need to spill out the back.

I am wondering can you get a slot loading slim line laptop style cd or preferably dvd drive?

Also does anyone know of anyone actually trying to do this whole idea? It seems quite logical that instead of cramming a pc in the glovebox or under the car seat, to put it in the stereo space, and use it instead of a car stereo.

Lawrence

Comment

search dude

there are actually a few succesful installs like this

it is the most logical way to do it, but also from a fabrication way one of the most difficult

Cheers
          Nano ITX / 512 MB / 60 GB / Panasonic slot load / M1-ATX / Bu303 / Sound blaster 24 / PPi amps / rockford sub

Comment