No Need to go Overboard

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No Need to go Overboard

Hey I am new to this carputer thing and after reading a good amount of posts I am a bit confused on what I need to feed my desires without going overboard. All I really need is dvd and cd playback....but other nice things would be divx, gps, maybe other misc. applications so i will have windows xp...

after looking at lots of posts i thought i would need to buy all the components (motherboard, power supply, etc.) and put them into a box/case, but i have a dell latitude ls like 10" laptop that i am buying an external dvd drive for so i was thinking, can i just put that under my seat and wire it to a xenarc or lilliput and be good to go?

thanks so much, i tried to search and find my specs but i couldnt find anything dead on

btw, not like it matters tooo much but i have an 04 subaru outback sport, similar to a wrx for people who dont know obs

if all you need is DVD and CD playback why dont u just go buy a car DVD/CD player?
    Signature: [==||========] 20% complete

Comment

well, i guess thats sort of what im debating

i know i want to put an indash screen...

but i guess im debating several options

1. dvd/cd player (head unit maybe)
      2. xbox or ps2 (dvd/cd capability)
      3. full-on carputer
      4. xbox or ps2, and gps receiver with ability to change source on my screen from game system to gps navigation.

i want the best option with money as a main issue.

also unsure whether to go with lilliput, xenarc, or something else

Comment

carputers are l33ter, more fun, and have more functionability

Comment

...yeah, that's what they all say. You'll see. Soon the government will be asking if they can borrow your car for its computing power.

The great thing about pc's are their versatility...and upgradability...and all sorts of other ilities. ...Costability?
          1999 Plymouth Voyager (That's right, big-pimpin' in a minivan.)