Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Dual mode video output? GPS on one screen, DVD on other?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dual mode video output? GPS on one screen, DVD on other?

Yargh, please help an uninformed newbie here. I can't seem to find any info on this type of setup.

I want to have a touchscreen lcd in front, and a normal lcd in the rear and have it so that both screens can show the same video, like a DVD, or have it so that I can switch the front screen to navigation, or some other type of source, in a single carputer (sorry about the run-on).

Has something like this been done? I know I've seen one of those dvd/lcd/mp3 headunits with the flip out screen that said it could do it, but can't remember the model.

Thanks!
    -mike

Fist thing you need is a Dual video out video card.
    I use Nvidia. In control panel go to Display>settings> advanced.
    In my case, I go to Gforce and enable both vga outputs.
    then, it gives me the choice on either clone the image on both monitors, or do a horizontal view accross both screens...

Hope this helps,
    Danny

Comment

I'm planning exactly the same thing w/ this:
      http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...101-111&depa=1
      •Micke

Comment

well.. actually, i'm hoping to run a 3rd HUD display for the NAV stuff
        •Micke

Comment

I was wondering that as well. i was thinking about using a car audio a/v selector. they are made by clarion, farenheit, and some others.

Comment

like this the avir-4 or avir-6
            souce selector

Comment

Ahhh! That's a great idea... I could even see the most simple set up to be like this:

dual head card (set up to be like dual monitor): have one always be for the nav, and one always be for dvd video. SPLIT the dvd video output to a video selector ("a" switch), and run the nav into the selector ("b" switch). Have the selector output to the front display, and run the other end of the split from earlier into the rear screen.