Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp for a Newbie

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pn...etailComponent

I'm still new to the carputer scene and even newer to the car audio scene. I have some experience with amplifiers but only for recording studios and live DJ setups so I'm really at a loss on which amp to get for my new Dakota Truckputer. A friend of mine is selling the amp above for $175 (price isn't really a concern) and I was wondering if that would work for my truckputer. I don't plan on any subs, atleast not at the beginning and I'm only going to be powering my speakers. I have Infinity Dodge Premium Sound with 4 standard size speakers and two components in the front. I keep reading everywhere that you need a 4-channel amp but is that only for people with 4 speakers? Or will having components work as well.

Thanks for any help you can give me.
    Dak TruckPuter:

Mac: - Researching and Awaiting Funds

Changed to planning for a Mac Mini Trukputer...w3rd.

im not familiar at all with your truck, but id research it a bit and see if it is like our van whereas it has an amp seperate from the headunit. if this is the case, you may be able to stick with the stock amp and all you would need is a special wiring harness to hook the amp up to your truckputer.

of course, thats if you wann go that route. i dont know what your musical tastes are.
    Your everyday carpc geek and tech guru at your service. *bow*

Comment

With the infinity system you should have a separate amp. Newer systems have a 4-channel amp inside the dash. Your 2000 however may be like my older 99 Ram and have two 2-channel amps built into each of the two front door speakers. May be good enough for a start until upgrading everything else.
      Rick S.

XP Pro SP2, Soyo P4RC350 MB, Nvidia FX5200, 320W PS, Inverter & uSDC20D, 2.4GHz CeleronD320, 512MB DDR, 30GB 3.5", Pioneer 106s Slot DVD, Linksys WMP54G WiFi, Lilliput 7" & 4" TFT LCD, Zippy EL610 Keyboard, Touchpad, Garmin GPS V