Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hullo from a Greenhorn

Hullo everyone,

I'm very new with this carputer business, but have been thinking of something like this for awhile now. Anyway, I must say that I've been completely bowled over by the stuff that you've put in your respective cars.

I've got some newby questions to ask:-

1. There seems to be a lot of discussion with motherboards, controllers, power supplies etc. In other words, most people here build their own carputer CPU and I was wondering why this is so. Isn't it much easier to use a laptop as the CPU instead?

2. Has anyone tried to do streaming media over a wired/wireless network, for inside the vehicle I mean?

3. Considering the electrics involved, would there be any special wiring mods that need to be done on the car?

Well, thats it for now. I hope to get involved with this soon, but I'm still working on the tech specs for what i hope would one day be a proper carputer.

Thanks very much.

Alfabob
    Malaysia
    -Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1982 with 1992 Alfa 75 2.0 Twin Spark Engine-

I prefere to build my own simply because its cheaper and how i want it, Lappies are expensive and not easily upgradable,
    just remember is ur friend
    Still Planning and Scavenging Parts ------Software-----and anything else i can lay my hands on!!! :)

Acquired a Toshiba Satelite 4000CDT
    HDD`s ****ed new one on way! 30gb Toshiba.

Comment

Originally posted by alfabob
      1. There seems to be a lot of discussion with motherboards, controllers, power supplies etc. In other words, most people here build their own carputer CPU and I was wondering why this is so. Isn't it much easier to use a laptop as the CPU instead?
      Laptops have two inherint problems in a car:
      1. They're not easily upgradable.
      2. Turning power on & off is a pain in the ***, whether you do it manually or rig some method of auto power-on.