Overhead Laptop?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overhead Laptop?

Noob here. I used to customize installations as a kid. Back when we only put radio head units, amps, crossovers, and speakers into our vehicles. Now, I am trying to customize my Chevy Avalanche.

The question I would like to ask the experts (ive researched for 3 weeks now on these forums and others with no definitive answers) is, Has anyone tried to mount a laptop *the whole thing* upside down in like an overhead console unit? I was thinking this would be the perfect place for an mp3 carputer.

1. There would be no fancy rewiring of the lcd unit, requiring an awefully expensive controller card and inverter.
    2. You could add USB devices as seen in other laptop/pc carputers.
    3. Wireless built right in.
    4. You can invert the image using 3rd party software or graphics drivers that support it.

Now if it's not feasible to do so, let me know. I would look into just using a 15 inch tft LCD with custom beszle and car puter.

Then I would be willing to trade my laptop for a 7 inch xenart touch panel and some extras.

Can't think of any reason why this wouldn't work. Maybe the CD drive wouldn't work but most laptops have the kind that snaps the CD in, so that might not be a problem.

Biggest problem would be typing upside down, obviously fixable with a second keyboard.

No touch screen and laptop screens aren't very bright so it would be hard to see.
    Originally posted by ghettocruzer
    I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
    Want to:
    -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
    -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

Comment

yeah. i guess that would be an issue as well. Brightness.. But while plugged up, it looks pretty good.