Ribbon Cable

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ribbon Cable

Hi I have chopped up my lilliput and installed it into my double din slot. However I would like to place the buttons about 4 feet away from the screen. Is there anyway to extend the little ribbon cable to the little board with the buttons? I am sorry but I am a newb and I'm guessing that you can just solder the cable to individual wires, so i just want a little guidence before I mess anything up. Thanks!
    Volvo 850 GLT

or just buy another ribbon cable from armen and do a really good job of taping the contacts together. We're in the newbie forum here :P
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

Comment

The second idea sounds good to me. I'm going to look for one right now. Thanks a lot for the help .
      Volvo 850 GLT

Comment

The second idea will not work as well as the first - it will probably come apart with time. the first idea seems like more work - but it's not.

Chop that cable right in the middle. Now heat the ends up, so the plastic melts away. youre left with a few wire strands sticking out - just solder them up to a longer length of wire, between the other end. If you mess anything up you only spent a few bucks, and you can just order a new cable from armen anyways.

Comment

Dr. H:
          Thanks, I'm always one for the cheap route.

Let's say that Armen's cables are $20.

Radioshack sells a soddering iron, which willl last a long time for $15, and dollarland sells wire for $1. Well, you could spend $4 less, and come out of this withg some spare wire and a soddering iron (plus some basic soddering skills).

Comment

ok, but armens cables are 6 dollars as i recall.....
            mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
            Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
            Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

Comment