Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why the 5400 RPM hard drives? Power issues?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why the 5400 RPM hard drives? Power issues?

Is this becuase of the 150 watt power supplies? I never thought power would be an issue, but I guess I understand. Does this mean my dream of a nvidia 6600 car computer is a bust?

I think your dream would be burst if you looked at the power consumption of the 6600
    PowerVoice v1 | NaviVoice Source
    GammaControl v2.4
    SKINbedder v3

1995 Lexus SC300

Comment

Hrmmmm, well I'm not one for letting my dreams burst. How would I go around this issue, a dc amplifier?

Sorry about the questions, I'm quite new at this subject.

Mainly the video car is for a winamp visualizer.

Comment

Originally posted by thenewuser
        Hrmmmm, well I'm not one for letting my dreams burst. How would I go around this issue, a dc amplifier?

Sorry about the questions, I'm quite new at this subject.

Mainly the video car is for a winamp visualizer.
        Wow! That must be one hell of a visualization to require so much processing power! If you want good graphics, go with an nForce chipset and an athlon XP system.

You can also use two DC-DC power supplies. One problem with inverters is that they may make a really annoying whine, and they are inefficient.
        GammaControl v2.4
        SKINbedder v3

1995 Lexus SC300

Comment

Dont let people say youre dreams are gonna burst. The systems most people have suck as far as power is concerned. 0I33I wrote navivoice so i know he knows what hes doing. But there are plenty of solutions for going around the power issues. Some people use dual supplies. Or just get an inverter and a big *** desktop PSU. Although inefficent it will work just fine if its done properly.

Comment

Look up winamp and R4 visualizer. Right now on my gaming machine, p4 3.0ghz, 6800 gt oc, it looks amazing, with very stunning graphics.