Greetings!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings!

Some of you may have seen me snooping around and I've shared some dialog with a few of you, and my shopping list is nearly complete, so I thought it would be appropriate to introduce myself.

I'm new to carputers but I've been building computers and developing software for 21 years and I've always had a decent stereo system, so it's just a matter of marrying the two up now. I don't know dick about cars though, so I may be asking some ignorant questions in that area, but I promise I'll search for the answer first.

This started when I bought a used Jetta last December with a stock AM/FM cassette player. I had been wanting GPS for a while so I was just about to throw down over $3000 on an Alpine Mobile Media Station when I overheard a co-worker telling someone that the touchscreen monitor he ordered on ebay for his car pc had arrived. I asked him about it and he directed me to this site and so the lurking began. My initial thought was, "A computer in my car. What a dumbass I am for not thinking of this already!"

While I do enjoy DIY projects, I travel for a living and I drive everywhere (hence the used VW) because I hate to fly, so I don't have access to a garage and I don't carry tools with me. I just have a little apartment in Tampa where I store all of my crap and have my active directory, web, and mail servers running, but I basically live in corporate apartments wherever I happen to be working. So, I'm going to take the easy way out and just buy the parts and have it professionally installed. I think I will go ahead and develop my own front end though, primarily because I'm interested in the 64 bit architecture, so this will give me a chance to play with it.