Power question...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Power question...

I've been browsing these forums for the past 2 months now....I've seen allot of people using the VIA motherboards cause they say they are light on the power side. Im planning on getting the opus 150w power supply and im tryin to plan my system. I just puirchased a lilli 7" touch. My question is.....

-Everyones systems always have GPS, optical drives, microphones, and all these tuner type cards and card drives, but how is everyone doing that when the Micro ATX boards only come with 1 PCI expansion slot?

-I was going to go with a stadard comp size with a athlon 2500+ Barton core, with about 512 in ram, a CDRW-DVD drive, 40GB 7200 RPM WD drive, and an AUdiy 2 EX caRD. Wehn i run that wattage down, im at about 270 watts!!!!!! so this means i cant use my opus 150 now right?...This is horrible.

--What are my options? can i use laptop drives and such?...where else can i get more power?...and what will work for my proposed setup. Im tryuin to keep cost down cause im poor. Thanks

Tangeray

Have you checked the FAQ Emporium on this site? There's a thread on powering your PC. It sounds like you need an inverter rather than an Opus.

You can see why people go with the lower power systems.
    Originally posted by ghettocruzer
    I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
    Want to:
    -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
    -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

Comment

Also, USB is a wonderful thing. GPS's are usually either Serial or USB.

Optical drives can be done with USB with the right stuff, ie. enclosures. Mine is firewire, and works great.

Microphones...well.. soundcard or USB. Your choice.

Even PCMCIA cards can be done USB. TV Tuners as well. I had an ATI USB TVWonder at one point.