Grounding?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grounding?

Ok, I'm new to the whole car electronics/customization thing, but I want to learn. Been viewing the forum for quite some time here and im learning a lot, but I need to know...what is grounding, what does it accomplish, and how does one do it?

Thanks in advance!

grounding is like the NEGATIVE part on a battery do some searchin and ull find alot more info but if you dont ground something it wont work :-P

Comment

Electricity flows in a loop, from one pole of the battery, back to the other. In a car, the negative pole on the battery is connected to the chassis of the car, effectively creating a path of conduction from any metal point on the car. Grounding is the process of ensuring that the negative wire on your electronic components is connected to the negative pole of your battery, either by directly connecting it, or by connecting it to your car's chassis. However, your car is not a perfect conductor and problems can arise.

For more information, click the link to the FAQ Emporioum in my signature and look for item #1 under "Installation Issues", "Getting rid of that whine in your speakers"
      Originally posted by ghettocruzer
      I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
      Want to:
      -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
      -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

Comment

Originally posted by BaFo0N36
        Ok, I'm new to the whole car electronics/customization thing, but I want to learn. Been viewing the forum for quite some time here and im learning a lot, but I need to know...what is grounding, what does it accomplish, and how does one do it?

Thanks in advance!
        Grounding accomplishes many things, it depends on when it is used.

A brief start,