Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Budget Jeep Install

Hey guys, first post.

So anyways, I am soon going to "inherit' my dad's 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee and would like to carputerize it. I have an extensive background in computers, so i'm not worried about the computer part, but i am a noob when it comes to car electronics, so i have a few questions.

Ok so my first project will be to replace all the speakers in the Jeep, because the original ones are cardboard replicas of speakers. (at least that's what they sound like )

Is every correctly-sized speaker out there going to work with my Jeep? I'm kind of confused about the stock setup i have. Is the amp built into the casette/radio player? If i replace it with a new cd player, will I also need to get a new amp? What are the advantages of having an amp?

Next, power questions-

What i was thinking is, why the hell do people buy opus power supplies for like $150 when all you need is one of those cigarette jack-to-120V outlet things? Then i thought, well that would mean that the computer would turn off whenever the car did. BUT THEN i thought, why not hook up the two wires in the 12v jack directly to the battery? Isn't that essentialyl the same as an opus?

Next, wiring questions.

Is there enough room in the paneling to accomodate for a few new vga, usb, ps2 wires? Also, are there any length limitations or will the quality just decrease as the length increases?

Thanks alot for all your help.

anyone?

Comment

Ok first your question of the speakers. Pretty much you want to find the nicest set that will physically fit. The wattage of the speaker is important as well because it lets you know how much power you can apply to them.