Total Beginner, please help me out!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Total Beginner, please help me out!

I am very interested in learning about carputers for the purpose of installing on in my truck and for making money in the future! I know how to install most electrical things on a car... but I no nothing about computers. When I look at a motherboard I have no idea what all the numbers mean! Is that book thats in the MP3car store a good place to start?

First off, welcome to the forums. I'm a n00b too, I just started seriously looking at this a few months ago and I'm already in the process of an install. So don't worry with a bit of patience and reading you'll pick things up fast.

Start at the FAQ Emporium. Read everything you can. Read the newbie forum, and all the answers given. Finally look at the worklogs and "show off your project forums" for ideas.

A typical car PC project looks like this:

- CPU/Motherboard. Some sort of lower powered PC. Some people use mobile Intel or Athlon chips, some people use VIA EPIA motherboard/chip combos (these are really small and low power).

- Location and case. There are several cases depending on the motherboard you choose, many people make their own. You may not need one depending on your location. Most people like to hide their install in the trunk, hatch, glovebox, under a seat.

- Power, some people use DC->AC inverters and regular computer power supplies (which do AC->DC). Others uses DC->DC power supplies made for this hobby. These take the noise power that your car's electrical system provides and makes a pretty stable 12V/5V/3V source.

- Screen. Most people use 7"-10" VGA touchscreens. The screen connects to the regular 15-pin output of your normal video card (or on-board video), the touchscreen connects to the PC via USB and becomes your "mouse".