Nubie advice for nubies

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nubie advice for nubies

OK so I have been here reading for a while but lately have been seeing a lot of posts asking for help on what I ( even being a newbie ) find to be easy questions. I was, and in parts still am overwhelmed by all this new info but I will start in newbie terms ( because that's all I know ) to explain what I have learned already. Therefore the vets who I'm sure get annoyed with the same repetetive questions all the time wont hopefully get as many of them. I will do this as follows.

I am a newbie to in car PC, I hav enever done this before and this is what I am doing and what I have figured out.

I will be using a refurbed PIII laptop, 20GB, hopefully close to 1Ghz
    I am installing a docking station under the seat ( that way I can reach it to turn it on and off etc until I learn more about startup and shutdown controllers, I can also take it out and plug it into my DSL at home to download content into it ) $300
    Video will be running to an 8" touch screen in the dash from ebay $250
    A slimline DVD drive ( that hooks to the docking station USB hub will go in the dash.
    The system will be powered by an opus 150. I know there are cheaper less powerful ones out there but why ? it is only $200 and it is such a huge part of the system why skimp here ?
    wireless mouse, keyboard etc allready purchased
    I want to run GPS so the GPS mouse plugs into another USB port and install the software ( already have this also )
    I have all of my cables and connections allready and yes they can get pricey when you add these things up.

This is I would consider a BASIC setup so for starters being newbies you are looking at around $1000.00 there are guys here that have made systems for $200-$300 but this is not realistic for us as we don't know nearly enough to do the things they do to achieve this yet.