Grand Am 2001

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grand Am 2001

ok i'm new to this, but i'm a quick learner. i've been reading over these fourms and trying to get a feel for what i want to do with my new car.

first, i want to say that i was looking for the specs on the stock amp when i found this place.

second, i want to say that the car i bought had a completly trashed sound system (4 blown speakers and a blown head unit)

I like some of the custom fixed LCD screens that have bene posted on the fourm.
    http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=48225

i have a toshiba laptop that i was thinking to use for system. at least to start. i personaly think laptop might be one of the best routes to go. since you cna set it to hibernate apon power lost. and can wake when it regains power. heating cna some what be an issue, but from what i've seen as long as the air has some where to go, it should be ok. (i'm using should cuase i'd like to hear feed back from people who've done it.)

i do have some questions which i figure i cna find around the fourms. but i was going to ask them here anyway.

1) custom dash molding. and trim. i have a piece trim that covers the radio, and A/c controls. the radio is about a deck and a half in hieght. ( yes i do have the monsoon system, however i have a computer box that will start the amp.) how would i go about obtaining, or making a new piece of trim that could support a dual deck?

2) most of there Lcds, are they USB, or DVT?

3) are there any types of touch screens i should stay away from?

4) does anyone have specs of on the monsoon amp? i'm planing to buy some speakers however i want to know what the amp can push.

5) this sorta goes with number 3. in the top corner of my dash i have a section thats peeling up. is there any sort of repair kits, or re-molding kits that could help me stick it back down? or would i be better off just buying a new dash?