Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amplifier Signal Cable connection

Hi There,

I'm new to Carputing and am just planning my first install. I currently have a Sony head unit connected to a 6 Channel 100 watt/Channel amp but want to do away with the head unit - directly replacing with my carputer.

I think I've answered most of my connection questions by searching the FAQ's here but I still have 1 I can't seem to find an answer to;

My head unit currently has a Blue signal wire which tells the amp to turn on when it does, my question is how does this interface with the carputer?

Apologies if this is a simple question but I just can't source an answer and don't know any better yet ....

Any Help much appreciated

Originally posted by Pheebs'67
    My head unit currently has a Blue signal wire which tells the amp to turn on when it does, my question is how does this interface with the carputer?

Apologies if this is a simple question but I just can't source an answer and don't know any better yet ....

Any Help much appreciated
    Don't let others scare you, you gotta ask some questions!

Ok, you need to figure out either what the amp expects on this line. It's probably just the presence of 12V. If that's the case you can pull run a wire from one of your carPCs molex (hard drive/cdrom) power connectors. They usually have 4 wires, a 5V+, a 12V+, and two ground connectors. These will send the 12V signal to your amp when your car PC turns on.
    My worklog.
    Status: VM GTI sold, got out of the CarPC tinkering hobby, but I still think about getting back in.

Comment

Have u decided what PSU to use for the pc yet? The M1-ATX psu has a connector for remote amplifier turn on. Connecting this should do the job, would it not kbyrd? I don't have experience of other PSUs tho...

M10K, Lilli 7", 512MB, 80Gb HD, slim CD-RW/DVD Combi, nLite Win XP, CentraFuse.

Planned for years, built for ages, tested for a while, almost installed, never gonna be perfect...