No announcement yet.

First Carupter, need TONS of n00b advice.

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Carupter, need TONS of n00b advice.

I am new to this site as of today. Obviously I joined because I want to install a in-car computer. I am new to this, but not completely uneducated. I have installed about 3 car stereos so I have a basic understanding of how that works. I have a pretty good knowledge of computers and how that works. I went to college and major'd in computer science and have built my own machines for tha past few years.
    I have NO experiance with carputers at all so please be kind.

I was in a major accident over summer in my Toyota 4Runner (Pics here: ). As a result I bought a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe and I have some money to do a nice system. My original plan went like this:
    Pioneer Avic-D1 (with lockout bypass modification of course) as main control
    Pioneer Ipod control
    After reading reviews on that I switched to wanting the Harmon Kardon idrive+play
    Pioneer back-up camera
    Sony PS2.
    Speakers and subs and amps, etc...

I recently became aware of this option. It seems to have everything I want (Nav, good iPod interace, dvd) although I am not sure if I could do a back up camera and PS2.

I am not really sure where to start guys. I want something that I can mount flush in the dash. I want good functionality. I have seen the Mac Mini installs and everything seems to work nice there.

I am not sure about power issues, and what happens when you turn the car on and off.
    How do you hook up the carputer to your cars wiring harness so you can use radio?
    How do you wire it to the speakers and amps.?
    Where do you non-pros get your stuff installed (I doubt I could tackle this on my own so I assume I need professional help).
    What do I need that isn't obvious?