and here we go

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• and here we go

Ok, after lurking for quite a long time, I've decided to take the plunge and get this process started.

The setup::
    -2003 Toyota Matrix
    -stock audio (yuck)
    -Dell Inspiron 9100 (laptop)

Now, for what I need to buy::
    -CNX-P1900
    -Some sort of USB >> 5.1/4.1 audio
    -7" Touchscreen LCD

Now for the noob questions::
    -Let's start easy.. I'm looking at this external sound card. Now, money is always an issue since I'm a broke college student. But sound quality is also an issue because I don't want to downgrade from my current <<stock>> sound system. Hooking everything together will be my primary challenge for I am a true car-audio n00blet. But, would this sound card fit the needs of the carPC?

-Secondly, with the P1900 it has a ton of features that I know nothing about. Normally, I would just purchase an AC/DC inverter (because if there is one thing I know even less about then audio.. it's electricity). What catches my eye is the auto startup/turnoff. Wiring this thing will be a *****, but I can sucker someone into assisting... but how does the auto startup/turnoff work with a laptop? Generally if the laptop loses it's power source it remains on thru it's battery.. so how does this work? Also, does the laptop just plug straighthru into this like a normal walljack?

Those are the primary questions.. hope someone can help, I've looked and looked and I think each thing I've come across has made me more confused than I was before.

Be prepared to crack open the case on that laptop, voiding any warranty that's left.

The carnetiX is designed to power on an ATX motherboard. IT may or may not work with your laptop. If it does, you'll be soldering into the mower button connects.

There are more issues with laptop installations. Do some reading int he FAQ Emporium.
    Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
    How about the Wiki?