Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm just getting started and could use some guidance on my pt cruiser :)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm just getting started and could use some guidance on my pt cruiser :)

hey all,

I decided a while back to build a computer in my car after i heard of one in someones car a few years ago. So now that i can finally drive (going to be a a senior in high school), ive decided to get started. Ive got about $2000 to spend, with more on the way if i need more. Ive got an '02 pt cruiser, golden exterior, brownish interior. I dont have specific measurements yet, but i have friend coming to take a look at my car to help me with measuring and figuring out if i have enough room for a screen in my dashboard.

So after spending all this morning and all night after work reading more specifically on carputers, i think its time to start putting together a parts and prices list. Ive got a few questions so far.

1. Should i go with a pre-built computer like from mini-box.com or opussolutions.com, or go with a custom built one? If i were to build it myself, i was thinking about an amd athlon 64 3200+ 940 socket (am2) because of its approximate 35w usage, a microatx mobo with decent onboard video and onboard 5.1/7.1 audio support, dvd burner (for on-the-road movie creation), 80 or 160g 3.5" hd (7200 rpm, most likely just ata). I think with my rig i wouldnt be able to use a dc-dc psu, so i'd have to go with a regular atx psu. Then i guess i would need an inverter... Ive already read in the psu section, and im still really confused about inverters, like what would be the best one for me and where could i buy/order one?