No announcement yet.

Got car, now need carputer. Any ideas?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Got car, now need carputer. Any ideas?

Hey guys, I'm very new to the carputer scene. I am very good with computers but I'm a total newb when it comes to cars. I'm planning to get a carputer but I need some ideas.

Here's what I'm going to get so far:
    M2-ATX PSU
    VoomPC Case
    VIA SP130000 mobo
    Seagate Momentus 7200 ST910021A
    1gig Kingston RAM

As for LCD, I need some advice. What would be a good motorized and non-motorized touchscreen LCD? And is there still anything I need to get?

I know you did post in the newbie section, and it seems like you have an idea of what you want, but before jumping in head first I'd suggest some reading, browse the forums a while, see what others are doing, see what your needs are, and what you can afford.. this is NOT a weekend slap together run a few wires project.. with good planning and bench testing I think one can install a carpc in one day, but there are always "gotchas" to be found... Start off by reading everything in this thread http://mp3car.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=78795 Then start looking for what you want.. nobody can tell you what you need, everybodys needs are different..
    Sell me your stuff.. please see what i'm looking to buy
    http://mp3car.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=75182

Comment

Jan Bennett
      FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

Comment

Originally posted by Badtz View Post
        Hey guys, I'm very new to the carputer scene. I am very good with computers but I'm a total newb when it comes to cars. I'm planning to get a carputer but I need some ideas.

Here's what I'm going to get so far:
        M2-ATX PSU
        VoomPC Case
        VIA SP130000 mobo
        Seagate Momentus 7200 ST910021A
        1gig Kingston RAM