No announcement yet.

System ideas

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• System ideas

Greets everyone! I'm totally new to the idea of a carputer, but not to computers in general. I've been itching to try chipping the ecu in my car but I've been worried about the downtime between logging and chip burning and such that I just stayed away. My ideas of building a new system have resurfaced with the current engine build I've gotten started on and I'm hoping that this is the place to ask my questions. I'm looking to datalog though a usb connection on my ecu to a program called Crome/CromePro but I don't own a laptop and I really don't like the idea of lugging it around anyway....too many dishonest folks around.....

Anyway, I thought I'd start with a smallish mobo with integrated sound/video to begin. Running an inverter for power and remotely mounting an external dvd player in the place of my stock head unit. I own a '93 del sol and the flip up cover hides things nicely, and the ash-tray cover also has some possibilities for hiding the controls and such. My final build would play dvds/mps/cds and possibly navigation software through a touchscreen (lilliput probably) and, given the current pricing of large harddrives lately, a somewhat huge sata hard drive. I'm thinking on hiding the touchscreen either in the ashtray compartment (if there's room of course), or hiding it from casual view for the initial construction. I really haven't completed enough research on hardware yet, so what I'm really looking to find are opinions on whether or not it's feasible. I was thinking to drop the head unit entirely and pick up an FM receiver eventually....possibly XM or some such in the future.

I was hoping to run linux with Crome but it's not an option so it'll probably be WinXP. Once I start gathering more info on the hardware, I'll get a bigger picture of where I want to go and how I can get there.

Thanks for looking and I hope to see lots of opinons!

First off, welcome