new dvd burner..windows won't recognize

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new dvd burner..windows won't recognize

having trouble getting my dvd writer installed. it's a pioneer k05 slim slot load laptop dvd burner. i manually installed it into my laptop (to test, i don't have the rest of my carputer yet.) windows (xp) won't recognise that there is a disk drive in there at all. the dvd drive didn't come with any drivers or anything, and it is new. it's getting power and accepts and ejects disks fine. i tried uninstalling the old drive from the device manager so windows could recognize new hardware, which it did. however, when it recognized the new hardware, it recognized it as my old disk drive, not the one that was actually in there. if put the old one in, it works fine. any help is greatly appreciated...and yes i've tried searching both this forum and google for a few hours already. sorry if this is a total noob problem but i just want to get this working so i know it works. thanks
    VIA Epia M10k, M2 ATX PSU, Pioneer DVD slot load slim Writer, Lilliput 619, WD 3.5" 80Gb HDD, BU-353 w/iGuidance v.3

Dash Fabrication 100%
    Computer Setup 100%

Did you happen to reboot between switching roms?
    Tidder

Try RevFE
    The best resurrected frontend I've ever used, period.

I Wish I could ban people

Comment

yes, each step was followed with a reboot
      VIA Epia M10k, M2 ATX PSU, Pioneer DVD slot load slim Writer, Lilliput 619, WD 3.5" 80Gb HDD, BU-353 w/iGuidance v.3

Dash Fabrication 100%
      Computer Setup 100%

Comment

That sucks. Maybe delete the entries out of your registry as well? Out of the controlset 1 and 2 and also the currentcontrolset. If you don't know what I'm talking about, then it's probably not a fix for you to perform.

After you delete the keys that have to do with the cd-rom, reboot.

Does it detect it at all? Or just detected it as the old rom?
        Tidder

Try RevFE

Comment