Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Building an iPod into the steering wheel.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building an iPod into the steering wheel.

Hey guys. Complete newbie here- I'm doing some research on building my iPod into my car. The battery died on it recently, so my old solution- Using the audio out on an iPod dock mounted in the ashtray- is no longer useful. Plus, it wasn't the neatest way of doing things, the ipod rattled around a bit.

So I'm thinking of building it into my steering wheel. The 'cover' comes off relatively easily, and there is a bit of space there.

However, I can't quite figure out how I am going to do the actual mounting. The biggest problems I am facing is that the click wheel needs a fairly solid mount to work properly, and I want to move the hard drive off the the side.

Click image for larger version

Name:	RIMG02702.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	74.0 KB
ID:	2298808

Is what I'm talking about feasible? How should I go about it?

Any hints on the connectivity side of things, would be appreciated, as well.

if you have a newer car chances are you have an air bag in your steering wheel.

I wouldn't advice messing with that.

Depending on your vehicle, I would think it would be fairly easy to mount the click wheel in the arm rest or on the door arm rest or the like.
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

Comment

Why not just go with a full blown CarPC. Way better than an Ipod any day of the week.

Comment

No airbags, Red. I know not to mess around with those.

I do like the idea of putting the click wheel in the armrest, though. Pity the screen would be next to unreadble while driving, down there.

And mounting the click wheel elsewhere opens up a whole new can of worms. How do I extend the ribbon cables for either the click wheel, or the screen? How far can I take them?

Comment