No announcement yet.

The beginning, and probably the end.

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The beginning, and probably the end.

Hi all,

Bit of a short anecdote. As a complete noob, I thought I would have a bash at making myself a very simple CarPC installation. Some of the projects on these forums look really impressive, and I didn't hope to make mine look quite as swish and perform quite as many functions. My abilities with power tools are lacking, to say the least, and I am not confident enough to start chopping up my dashboard and boot and start trailing cables here there and everywhere.

I started this weekend by attempting to see whether my existing unit had an input for an mp3 player or cd changer that I might possibly be able to trail a cable from to plug into my laptop. I have the ability to remote control a number of media players on my laptop via Bluetooth on my Pocket PC, so I figured the laptop on the passenger seat, with my Pocket PC in it's cradle on the windscreen would be a sufficient starting point.

On Friday, I managed to figure out how to remove the dashboard of my Ford Fiesta Mk6 with some help from google. Off came all the covers, and that's where my problems started. Despite having read warnings about it, and despite me being as careful and gentle as possible, I managed to disconnect the cables that control the air temperature and distribution on the a/c system, rendering the controls completely useless. The temperature is set as low as it will go, coming out all the vents. Had the cables only come off of the dials at the dashboard end, I could have attached them back on and got on with looking at the headunit.

That wasn't to be, however, and the cables are now actually physically seperate from the car at both ends. Not a good start...