Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

CarPC noob - first post with some sensible questions :)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CarPC noob - first post with some sensible questions :)

G'day all,

Noob here from Australia..

Been surfing the forum today as I'm interested in putting together a car pc. I've put together countless car stereos so I thought I might give the PC thing a go So far my system idea looks like this:

* Flip out touchscreen
    * VoomPC case
    * M2-ATX PSU
    * Via MII10k / Via MII12k
    * 1GB RAM
    * 60-100GB 2.5" HD
    * USB WiFi dongle
    * USB GPS Receiver
    * USB Bluetooth dongle
    * External USB DVDR/Single DIN DVD player.

Pretty much going for an all in one system with GPS/WiFi/Bluetooth/Radio/TV blah blah blah. I'm tossing up between a single DIN DVD player or building a DIN sized case to hold the slimline external DVD Rom & extra USB Hub for USB Drives and maybe PDA sync, etc. I like the idea of being a ble to play CD's and DVD's on the fly but I don't like the idea of not having a DVD ROM handy.

Another thing I wanted to grab is a FM Radio/TV PCMCIA card (either from AVerMedia or wherever). I've seen some that have the ability to connect a regular TV Antenna plug directly into the card for the signal.

2 questions:

1. What do you think about the setup? Will this be an OK setup? Are there any pitfalls that I should avoid (eg. HD or RAM to avoid etc.).

2. Since the PCMCIA card I'm considering has an RF input socket, is this in anyway the same as a car's antenna? I'm not familiar with the home tv aerials that much as I've only ever spliced car antennas.

Thanks and look forward to hearing from you all!