Hi All

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi All

Uhh so I'm Brandon, and I have an addiction. lol anyway. I've been thinking about the idea of putting a Carputer into my 1990 supra for quite a while. Until now, I was going to just get a laptop, rip the screen off, and connect it to a monitor. Well you all have opened my eyes to a new (to me) way of doing it--gutting a desktop PC, building your own wood enclosure, then routing it to a screen in the dash. I have a few basic questions though:

1.) How are car speakers hooked up to the sound card? Whats the best type (5.1, 7.1, etc...) of sound card to run for a 6 speaker, non-surround sound, + a sub setup?

2.)What program is best for tuning? Fuel maps, etc...

3.) How's the power inverted? Is it as simple as using a power inverter and plugging the pc's power supply in, or do you all hardwire it?

Possibly more questions to come. No flames please, Im a huge newbie to this world

k, ill be nice

1) can be hooked up thorugh a aux imput on your head unit or run it to separate amps for your speakers. if your not looking for surround sound, a simple stereo sound card will do.

2) idk, wait for someone else to anwser that

3) look in the mp3car store. they have dc-dc powersupplies that work off the car power to power the carputer. much more effecent and much smaller.

at least your in the right section.

Comment

hehe thanks compnut--it's greatly appreciated.

Follow-up on question number 1: so a simple 2 channel sound card will work? Im a freak about great sounding audio--so it has to sound perfect. If I go the carputer route, I plan on not using a head unit, using just the PC for sound. if I run a stereo sound card, then use an 2.5mm to RCA adapter plug to run it to amps, would that work? This whole business about using a sound card for car audio is confusing!!

Comment

first before you ask another question i urge you to read the faq emporium...all of it. this should keep you b usy for a while.