Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Laptop, Composite video out, $40 Emerson LCD?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Laptop, Composite video out, $40 Emerson LCD?

Ok... I've got an older tiny laptop (2 366) with composite out (NTSC/PAL). It's a Gateway Solo 3150 (Link to specs) with 160mb of RAM.

Geeks.com has a $40 Emerson LCD display. The resolution is only 480x230.

I would not be using the laptop display. It would be tucked under the passenger seat. Was thinking of using a USB i/r remote to control it. It would be used as an MP3 player only. I'd be using output from the headphone jacks to an aux-in adapter connected to my Eclipse CD5425 head unit.

Would this setup be worth attempting? I have a feeling it would be difficult to get it to display properly, and I'm not entirely sure how much functionality I'd be able to get out of. But, since I'm a complete noobie to anything carpc related, I figured this would be the place to ask.

My goal is to have all 100gb of my MP3s available in my car and have a nice sized display so show what's playing. My other option would be to use a 4x20 LCD with Winamp plugins and I/R for control.

Input appreciated.

Ooh, I like the cost. I'm pretty poor and this would be a nice solution. Anyone know if text would be readable on it(non-VGA)? With my setup I want it to be more progressive than all at once, starting with just GPS and some other things so this might be perfect. (sorry for mini thread hijack)

I think the attempt is worth it, unless anyone else disagrees.
    -------
    I'm hungry

Comment

The screen will barely be readable at 640x480. I ran a 5" composite screen for years. Ran winamp in doublesize mode and it was bareable for winamp, but for something like GPS the text was unreadable (but I could still git the gist from just the pictures).