No announcement yet.

My plan: am I on the right track here?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My plan: am I on the right track here?

What i hope to accomplish:

a) Have my deck to control bass/speaker volume, AUX etc
    b) Have the netbook take care of all general windows **** like videos, music, internet (has a SIM card built in with mini mags for improved signal)
    c) Get all this securely mounted/fastened
    d) Make sure my battery does not croak

A few extras about the items in the diagram (numbered)

1. I have constructed an aluminum frame that is mounted on the dash to host the netbook (above the deck). Netbook LCD is flipped over and laptop acts like tablet PC
    6. The inverter i am hoping to put under the driver's seat...but am i at any risk of sound problems if i also choose to run my amp power cable on the same side...or is it only the RCA/speaker cables that should be on the opposite side?

This is my first attempt at anything even remotely related to car audio/fabrication/carputers. I've dealt with computer hardware/coding before (gaming PC's, web development...) but other than putting gas in my car, i've never done much with it. So just to make absolutely sure i don't go and mess something up big time, if I can have a few of you guys skim over this and offer me any advice or give me the thumbs up if it's all good, i'll be on my way and post pics when im done!

One problem I have run into so far with this is that when i plug my laptop (headphone jack) into the AUX input on my deck and play music, i get this fuzzy noise synchronous to my engine. i took out the AUX cable and popped in a pair of earbuds into my netbook and the static crap was gone. am i correct in assuming my radio/deck is therefore not grounded properly?

thanks again guys,

-- Dc
    2003 Mitsubishi Lancer CarPC Build Thread