No announcement yet.

Should i use these components?

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should i use these components?

After reading all these posts and articles, I made my mind.
    i wont use a DC power supply as the wattage wont be enough for my requirements.
    im going to use a DC-AC inverter for a AC power supply.
    i was thinking of buying a Core 2 duo processor as they are fast, cheap and they only waste 65 watts.
    DDR2 ram sticks are only 5 watts, and im going to hook up with a dvd writer, 7200 rpm hdd, tv card, and i was thinking of a 250 watt or 300 watt power supply.
    only thing i need is an opinion if im doing everything right, the inverter is going to be connected to an extra 12v battery in the boot.
    its my first time im installing a carpc, and you can see im a newbie, so i just need some words, comments or general feedback from you.

I don't see why you'd need a 250W.
    I do know Opus makes a 250W DC-DC unit, you might want to check that out, might save you time and hassle. I am however not aware of the price of the unit currently...

Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
      How about the Wiki?

Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

thanks for that.
        im in south africa and here its dificult to get that stuff
        importing is expensive as all taxes, shiping costs, etc kill me
        any other views?
        by the way, i already calculated the CPU, and total system should be around 200 watts