Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I make a test rig using AC?

Hi Guys,

Quick and possibly stupid question. I wanted to set up an indoor test rig, but in my simple brain all I could come up with was wiring the power supply
    (DS-ATX2) to a car charger.

Now I'm thinking that it's WAY too much amperage on the power supply, but if I put it in trickle charge mode?

Is this going to work. If not any easy suggestions about hooking up a power supply indoors for testing.

Reason is I want to do some programming with the DS-ATX2 but don't want to go in and out of my garage to do the work of testing my programs.
    Zerach
    --------
    CentraSkin Developer

Try out the new version of CentraSkin V.52

Click here to get CentraSkin V.52

http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/powe...wer-house.html

I've been using this method for over 5 1/2 years.
    Old Systems retired due to new car
    New system at design/prototype stage on BeagleBoard.

Comment

http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/advf...iew&advfaqid=4
      Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
      How about the Wiki?

Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

Comment

DO NOT HOOK A BATTERY CHARGER DIRECTLY TO THE DSATX!

Says so right in the DSATX instructions..........check the PDF again.

There's a thread around here somewhere about how to use a regular ATX power supply to get a clean, stable 12v to test your dc-dc psu and run the 'puter in the house.

A quick search should turn it up...........

*edit: Darque got it while I was typing............*
        For once you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and there you will long to return.
        Leonardo Da Vinci

Comment

Muchos Gracias! I appreciate the help minus the sarcastic footer. I get the idea of a forum and a FAQ. Which I admit I didn't look at.

It's somewhat offensive to ask for time-saving help and get hit with that! Way to ->