Missing Ignition Wire

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Missing Ignition Wire

Hi, I've been through this site looking for some details on wiring up my M3ATX to an ignition wire. I currently have a 2001 Pontiac Aztek, with a factory radio with a 24-pin harness connector and a 12-pin AUX connector. It seems that from wiring diagrams that this Aztek has no ignition wire going to Pin 14 on the harness, as there is some other method of turning on the radio.

I need to find a method connecting to an ignition or accessory wire. I've read on this site about connecting to a fuse location.

I'm really looking for any low risk methods connecting to the ignition, as I'm not really an electrician or a mechanic.

Ideas or help?

Kevin
    Epia Nano ITX N10000E, Morex 1677 Case, 1024MB RAM, TSST Slim DVD/CD-RW, 60GB Fujitsu Notebook HDD, Win XP Home/Mandriva 2008 Dual Boot

Well if your cig lighter only comes on when you have it in ignition, you can tap into that.

Comment

There has to be an ignition wire running to the radio or else it would always stay on whether the ignition was on or not. I'd look at those diagrams again.
      Christmas Car Project 2008

ArrowDash Skin Worklog

Comment

Buy a test pen about $2 and search for a fat wire on your car wiring harness and try to turn ignition on and off with the test pen

Comment

Buy a test pen it's about $2 and look for a fat wire on your wire harness and poke the wires with a test pen and try turning on and off your ignition to check which wire is the ignition.

Comment

Arrow,
            Thanks for the reply. With this GM radio it has a 12V Constant on pin 13, and it uses the OG Data Line on pin #1 to turn on an off the radio, which is part of the cars computer. I've read many places not to mess with the OG Data line. I assume if I use the 12V constant, that the PC will never turn off. Am I wrong?