M4-ATX connectors?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• M4-ATX connectors?

I have seen elsewhere on this forum someone talking about the new M4-ATX dc-dc power supply, noting that there were no wires or connectors supplied to send the pulse to the motherboard, or any of the other reported functionality of this power supply, such as USB programming. I'd be very interested in where others have found their supplies or how they rigged this. Also, Has anyone successfully bench tested this model ,and what methods outside the car have they used to achieve this. Does this model require a minimum amperage of 12 volt to work? The documentation for this unit stinks to say the least!

I am a newbie, but I am an informed newbie. I'll report on my project later today with pictures and I'll start a journal.
    Thanks for helping me in advance, and please forgive me if I am repeating another thread here. I did try to look!

Ben

Originally posted by GhostRiderDad View Post
    Does this model require a minimum amperage of 12 volt to work?
    Amps are different from volts.

I am currently bench testing an M4 unit. You are correct, it does not come with a cable to connect to the ACPI jumpers from the M4 to the motherboard. I have fashioned my own out of spare connectors I had laying around.

It does come with a USB cable that theoretically permits programming, but as there is no firmware upgrade or program at this time, it is of no use.

The unit does come with the proper cabling for most motherboards and supplies both IDE and SATA units with power. It also comes with a 4 pin wire for motherboards such as the Intel Little Valley board that require an additional power cable to post.

The documentation is sparse and while it addresses the issue of switching modes and how to reprogram the board to do so, a jumper is not supplied. You will have to find or supply one on your own.