Installing power outlets in a conversion van

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installing power outlets in a conversion van

I'm completely new to the whole mp3Car scene, so hopefully this question won't come across as too entry level for some of you.

I'm purchasing a conversion van in the next couple of days and I'm really wanting to take a few steps to make it into a mini-RV.

I'm going to have a secondary leisure battery installed, which seems like a really straight forward processes. But what I'm wanting to do after gets a little mucky.

I am wanting to install 3 electrical outlets (exactly like the ones in a home and in RVs) two in the ceiling (one which will power a TV and one for misc devices like cell phones to charge) and one on the side wall of the vehicle (which will power a mini-fridge).

How is the best way to handle this? Would installing three power inverters make a difference or do I need to have power running from the battery, to a fuse box of sorts, and then to the electrical outlets?

Any help in the form of advice, tutorials, documents, parts, etc.. would be very helpful.

Thanks!

Most use a single (centralised) inverter with normal (legal) AC distribution.

To avoid AC distribution (but most have that anyhow for powered sites), you could have separate inverters into DC feeds, but that means heavy DC cabling (ie, 10 to 20 times the AC currents) with likely less efficiency than a larger inverter. (A large inverter with a 2nd as spare (else a generator) is probably better).

The only time a separate inverter might be worthwhile is for high inrush-current devices like older monitors etc (ie, on a different inverter/UPS to sensitive loads such as computers etc).

But generally, a centralised inverter close to the battery, probably with RCD.
    And some interlock else separate distribution so as to NOT connect an AC source (if provided) to the inverter outputs.