Truck Driver Need's a little help.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Truck Driver Need's a little help.

I am a truck driver and my setup is a bit heavy duty..

My alt. is a 170amp and my main battery bank is 4 group 31 in parallel.
    connected to it is a 3000 watt Inverter that powers all my hotel loads, fridge,micro and computer.
    My problem my inverter does not survive crank.(flips out actually)
    This is really really irritating me so..
    What i want to do is add an extra battery(mebby 2) to my bank with a cut out ckt to disconnect the extra battery when the engine cranks.MY inverter would be hooked up to the
    battery's that are disconnected.
    I am having a hard time finding a good solenoid for the purpose.
    I think I want a 500amp normally closed non latching type.
    any idea's where I can find such a beast ?

I think I may have a solution for myself, Bep Marine makes this little gadget..
    http://www.bepmarine.com/home-mainme...ive-relay-vsr-

I am going to pick one of these up and see if it will work for me.

I think by the time you spend the time & money doing what you suggested, you would be further ahead adding a proper carputer power supply that is designed to handle the tasks of startup, shutdown, cranking etc. Also the computer would end up getting cleaner power than it would from the invertor and you will have less computer issues.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

Comment

all right I will consider not using an inverter to power my pc.

my current computer is an Intel quad core 2.2ghz cpu
      video card is a radeon 5870 <recent> upgrade
      8 gig ram
      5 500gig 2.5 and 3 1TB 2.5 inch hard disk's.
      I will eventually replace all my 500 gig drives with 1tb drives and the total number of drives will go up to 10 drives.
      I have no Idea what my total power usage is but my 1000watt ps seems to handle it ok.