Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opus DC DC

edit

hehe, a DC-DC unit has no battery it simply converts (not amplify you car voltage to the voltages required by your motherboard and/or accessories.

Wiring is pretty simple, you need 2 wires going to the front of the car, positive to the battery +, acc line going to you cigarette lighter + or your stereo wiring loom ACC wire, and finally negative you ground to the nearest point on the chassis (under a big bolt).

Its not dangerous as long as you fuse the +ve line and maybe the ACC line although it should have its own fuse.

HTH
    Mods: 18" Boss rims,Twin custom stainless exhaust,cold air induction.
    Sound: Pioneer 7400 HU & 6x9's,12" Vibe Sub,600W Kenwood amp.
    CarPC: MicroATX, Inverter, WinTV, Lilliput 7", USB GPS
    http://www.no1knows.com/galleries/

Comment

Originally posted by stub004
      stupid question...but again i admit (embarrassed) that i am totally new to this.

when you buy the DC DC unit...is it a stand alone battery like the car's, or does it simply amplify the voltage of the car's battery? If so, how do you connect the unit up to the main car battery without electrocution etc? lol.
      I am just really scared of f***ing up my car!

stub004

Cheers
      stub004,

You won't electocute yourself on a 12v system. Worst that could happen is you get a little "tingle". Wired lots of things in cars (including full race car wiring harnesses, radio head units, computers, etc......) and have never been zapped where it really hurt me. You can get some install pictures off my webpage. Version 1 and 2 are my old car (thank God it's gone), Version 3 is the new one. There are some construction ideas in there for attaching a "desktop" type pc to the car.

Batman
      [email protected]
      www.samshomepage.net

Comment

Originally posted by stub004
        stupid question...but again i admit (embarrassed) that i am totally new to this.