need advice choosing power supply

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need advice choosing power supply

Hello im new to this car pc thing but Im trying to get one up and running in my car by mid Feb to march and I need some help. I just wanted to know what is the best power supply to get to connect to the car battery direct, survives engine cranks and provides enough power to a mini itx board and isnt that expense. I dont want to build to much of anything(like anything but the entire thing) I just want to buy it and connect it to the motherboard and be happy. Can I get some advice please.

All the advice you need is already in these forums. There is a discussion on just about every power supply option out there in these forums.

There is no 'best' power supply. They each have their problems. You will have to make your own choice and do some research on each power supply option, which I will list several for you to get started searching:
    1) inverter and ATX PSU
    2) CarNetix
    3) Opus 150
    4) Opus 90
    5) PW-70
    6) M1-ATX

KyferEz
    TheCarPCStore.com - Power Controllers (SDC), Inverters, Tank Circuit, GPS, OBDII, CarPCs, and more!
    PSU Wattage Calculator
    Electronics Calculators
    Copper Wire Data

Comment

I would recommend the M1-ATX, it is cheap and fairly good with the options... it survives cranks, comes with all necessary hookup parts (except for the wiring to battery)... I ran all wiring off my amplifier, so I have power, ground and remote turnon lead just paralleled... I am running a Via Epia 800 (slightly older, but essentially the same as the popular M10000), a Maxtor HD, a holux GPS-210, Dlink DWL-122 USB Wifi, Belkin USB Bluetooth... serial cable for XM tuner is in the mail and will be working by the end of this weekend... I have the Xenarc 7TSV and am totally pleased with it... I use an in dash Pioneer P5000MP DVD player for control of volume and amp/sub/etc...