5.5V 2.2W Power Supply???

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5.5V 2.2W Power Supply???

I have an odd power requirement. I need a 5.5V 2.2A power supply. I've already built a 5v 6A power supply (using a PT6625) and now I guess I need another one.

The PT6625 will need to remain at the same output (it is driving 2 powered hubs).

Someone please help. I would assume I can use an LM1084 with some resistors and caps. Please be specific if making a suggestion, I'm not an electrician or an engineer - thanks!

-HD

Originally posted by joshthepilot
    You can hit up radio shack for their variable voltage regulator. It can do up to 1.5 amps which meets your 2.5Watt specs. It uses 2 resistors to set the voltage. Bring a calc with you because I think it says on the back the simple formula. Then you can buy the resistors at the same time.
    Thanks for the answer...

Oh Crap - I meant 2.2 Amps...I'm assuming if my device pulled that many amps of this regulator, it would burn out regardless of the size of the heatsink...?

-HD

Comment

whats wrong with using the same ic (PT6625) for the 5.5 volt's output..?

edit:

i mean, you should be able to use the same regulator (1 for each design )
      just put some resistors to vo(adj) pin 14
      heres is a datasheet
      http://grok.ecn.uiowa.edu/Internal/V...tor_pt6620.pdf

2 edit:
      28,4k between pin 14 and Ground (pin 7-10)
      Sorry for the english

CarPC Specs.

Via Epia MII 12000 \\ 512 Mb Ram \\ 200 GB Western Digital \\ PCmcia asus wi-fi
      Xenarc 7" Touchscreen \\ Usb Bluetooth \\ Carnetix P-1280

Comment

Josh - thanks for the suggestion. Just to let you know, I'm running (2) 5V 2A usb hubs off the PT6625. I've attached a drawing of what my circuit currently looks like.

If you have time, please modify it and let me know what I need to do to get me 5.5V on one line while keeping 5V on the other 2 lines. Thanks!
        Attached Files

Comment

hd