Will this switches work with DC?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will this switches work with DC?

I'm an electronics newbie, but learning. I bought a toggle switch today that says it's rated or 5A at 120V AC or 2A at 250V AC. I want to use it for in my carPC setup. The line it'll be on is 30A at 12V although I'll probably never draw more than 10A. If I compare 5*120=600 with 12*30=360, I think the switch should work. Is there such thing as an AC only switch?
    My worklog.
    Status: VM GTI sold, got out of the CarPC tinkering hobby, but I still think about getting back in.

no way, switches are rated in current it can break at a given voltage.

and there are no AC only switches, but AC is easier to break at a given voltage

Comment

Originally posted by greenman100

I don't understand the whole answer.

- "Switches are rated for current it can break at a given voltage"
      So, even at 12V, I really need a 30A (or 20A or whatever) switch? I was at the local Fry's Electronics saw nothing remotely close to that amp rating, I'm looking for a small-ish switch.

- "AC is easier to break at a given voltage"
      Do you mean it's easier for the switch to do it's job at a given AC voltage than the same DC voltage? This shouldn't really be a problem for me though, right since I'm at 12V DC in the car.
      My worklog.
      Status: VM GTI sold, got out of the CarPC tinkering hobby, but I still think about getting back in.

Comment

when he says there are no AC Only switches he means that a switch can work w/ AC or DC not just one or the other

your switch will proably work

http://www.the12volt.com/ohm/ohmslaw.asp
        William Surritte, Technician
        No Limit Technologies
        1931 U.S. HWY. 160, Caulfield, MO 65626
        http://home.centurytel.net/nolimititech/
        Planning: |++++ |
        Software Development: |++++ |
        Hardware Development: |++ |

Comment

Originally posted by kbyrd