Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Power up question ... (engineer opinions?)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Power up question ... (engineer opinions?)

Lemme start out by saying I'm a grad of the Va Tech Computer Science dept and I've also taken some computer engineering classes... so I have a better-than-average grasp on electronics...

Anyway... to save money, I was thinking of using my compaq laptop as the brains. I can write a small app to monitor the power supply and send it into hibernation when it looses the car's power... BUT how the hell do I wake it up??? I'd like to avoid cutting into the laptop, as I'm sure that would void my warranty with Best Buy... BUT... I have an S-Video port on the side... I was thinking of rewiring it directly to the power button and then using a relay powered by the "ON" position in the ignition to send a pulse down an S-Video cable to trip the power switch. Anyone used anything like this??? I know it's a bit complicated... but it saves me like $500. ;-)

Originally posted by sstainba
    Lemme start out by saying I'm a grad of the Va Tech Computer Science dept and I've also taken some computer engineering classes... so I have a better-than-average grasp on electronics...

Anyway... to save money, I was thinking of using my compaq laptop as the brains. I can write a small app to monitor the power supply and send it into hibernation when it looses the car's power... BUT how the hell do I wake it up??? I'd like to avoid cutting into the laptop, as I'm sure that would void my warranty with Best Buy... BUT... I have an S-Video port on the side... I was thinking of rewiring it directly to the power button and then using a relay powered by the "ON" position in the ignition to send a pulse down an S-Video cable to trip the power switch. Anyone used anything like this??? I know it's a bit complicated... but it saves me like $500. ;-)

Welcome,