Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Power supply design

Hello all,

I was wondering if anyone has considered Linear Technology switchers. They are surface mount and they claim around 90% to 95% efficiency with pretty much minimum outside component.
    I ran across an article ( design idea) from Intel that used their IC. The design was for mobile PC.
    They used all surface mount component ( everything). It seemed very tiny.
    5V, 12V, 3.3V, -5V and -12V (full atx)

Almost no heat sink!!!!!!!!!!
    apparently because of the efficiency very little power is waisted to heat.

I am looking into designing one. Since I am a novice in electronic it would probably take me an eternity.

Any ideas about starting that project or not or any input would be appreciated.

abbas welcome to the club!

Just a advice always do a search for the topic you want to know or need to post about .. cause there are most topic already discussed here.. !!

so just do a search on "linear power" .... you will know the drawbacks of the above...

Mastero

Comment

Actually - see if you can dig up that link. If there are more efficient surface mount components, they might be a good idea to research. Currently we're building PSU's from TO-220 package chips, and getting about 65% efficiency. Perhaps some ingenious surface mount manufacturer has found a better way?

Radio shack linear power convertors can't handle the Amps and voltage range needed to get the power we need, so we're using switch-mode convertors from Maxim-IC. Those present the problem that the overall psu size is somewhat bulky (albeit it's pretty damn small for a PSU... 1.5" x 5" or so)

Jeff Mucha (zootjeff) has designed a PSU that uses surface mount comps, and his is even smaller than the sproggy described above.

Comment

hey CL i agree with you but the thing with SMT components are that everyone cant solder them ... its kindoff SMALL ..... and the pins are mostly thighly packed to solder at home..