M1-ATX power handling, LCD/MD/HD/DVD/USBs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• M1-ATX power handling, LCD/MD/HD/DVD/USBs

I've got a 14" ELO touchscreen monitor that I am trying to figure out how to power up. It comes with the usual 110/240v-12v brick and I am trying to find a 12v source to power it in the car. The output current for the screen is 12v 3a.

I have an M1-ATX which will be powering an VIA MII 12000, Seagate full size 400gb HD, Pioneer slot load DVD, amp remote turn ons, and several USB applications.

I have been searching for a couple of hours now and the general consensus seems to be to tap into the 12v rail on the power supply. Will this be okay? Also, instead of splicing wires can't I just use the 12v and ground from the second HD plug? I remember seeing somewhere which of the wires were which but I don't remember now. (red, black x2, yellow)

I hope this makes some sense, I am still learning. Thanks in advance for all help!

The molex connector is red, black, black, yellow with 5v, gnd, gnd, 12v.

3amps off the 12v rail is a hefty load expecially for the M1. Including all that other stuff, I say, probably not.

In my opinion, the best way would be to build (or buy) a 12v regulator that can handle 3amps. Basically take the car's 6v-14v (Cranking-Charging) and convert to a steady 12v. That way you won't need to introduce inverter noise.
    Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
    1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
    30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
    15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
    Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

Comment