Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Power Supply or a dc regulator?

Hello everyone,
    I am thinking of buying a dell sx270 (small form factor, external PS). Now, is it better to buy a costly dc-dc power supply (The nicer ones) or hacking apart the ext. p/s and run it directly to the battery? I have read other post, that they have done this. Mostly because they claim the sx270 mobo has a built-in regulator. Now here is my idea, I want to use a dc 12v regulator ( like this one ) Is this a good idea? If so, they make 5V regulators too. Can I use those to power usb hubs, etc... I am not a power expert, The items i found maybe the wrong ones. So any help is great! BTW I have a good size stereo system, sucking up alot of power. (4000w max avg 2000w RMS)

thats not a regulator!

Comment

I must be mis-lead by the title? It said it has a built-in regulator? Can you explain a little more please?

Comment

Did I put this question in the wrong forum?

Comment

Originally posted by dvsmex View Post
          I must be mis-lead by the title? It said it has a built-in regulator? Can you explain a little more please?
          Yep, you've been misled. That is not suitable for powering a computer, not even close.
          Old Systems retired due to new car
          New system at design/prototype stage on BeagleBoard.

Comment

I ahh.. think its a volt meter :

Comment

The computer (sx270) just needs 12v regulated. It doesn't really need a power supply. Does anyone have an idea of where to get what i'm looking for? I have done the searches, but it's useless if I don't know what i'm looking for.

Comment

How about a voltage Stabilizer?
                Could this work?

Or maybe a isolator for a three battery setup? One batt for the engine, One batt for the audio system, and One batt for the truckputer. All will be charged by the alt. So no batts will affect each other. (current draw)

Comment