CarPC keeps shutting down

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CarPC keeps shutting down

Okay. I am fairly new to the carPC world, but I have been working on mine very slowly for the past year and doing a lot of reading, but I can't figure this one out. Most parts came from a used desktop that I re-housed just try out the carPC hobby (which I really enjoy). I am wondering if I should consider using a Via Epia board, and M1 or M2 ATX power supply. Anyways, the parts and problem follow.

CarPC

msi Micro-ATX board with a 2.66 GHz Celeron D
    256 RAM
    20 GB IDE 5 1/2" hard drive
    liliput touchscreen
    PS/2 wireless keyboard and mouse
    Vector 400w - 800w peak - inverter
    220w max stock psu

The only thing connected to the inverter is the computer. The computer runs fine when it is plugged into an extension cord and stays on for a long time with no problems. It also works fine when running off the inverter without running any programs. When I have it running RoadRunner and playing music, it work sfine for anywhere from 2-10 minutes and then just shuts down without any warning, and it does not matter I am driving or stationary.

Any help would be much appreciated.
    Thanks
    Osafie

sounds like an overload... is your inverter large enough to reliably power the supply?
    MY NEWEST INSTALL:modded infiniti fx with big screen

first windows carpc install........my liquid cooled LVDS screen :D

Comment

How is the inverter connected? Is it plugged into a cigarette lighter? If so, I'm willing to bet that's your problem.
      Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
      How about the Wiki?

Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

Comment

that can also cause an overload, or just not enough power delivery...

Comment

Thank you for the replies.