Sirf Advance Gps Mode Help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sirf Advance Gps Mode Help

i have been using RR and mapmonkey for about 3 months now and happy with it. one thing that i was not able to accomplish is using the advance gps mode. i know this is a repeat question but i am hoping that people here will answer this question based on my situation. i am using the mouse gps reciever from navisky, it is nmea compliant and checking the specs it is sirf capable. when i try to configure mapmonkey to advance gps mode, and run mapmonkey, gps is not found, and com port busy. i tried using sirfdemo to change the nmea to sirf protocol and it changed it, still no luck. is there a different program than sirfdemo that i can try, i am guessing this is one of the problems. is there a special setting that i need to do on mapmonkey or destinator to make this work? any help is appreciated. thanks again
    7" Lilliput
    Opus 150
    mini itx 1Ghz
    1GB sdram
    97 Prelude

I dont really understand what you are saying...

From what I remember, (unless this has changed, but I dont think it has) Advanced mode is only NMEA... SiRF is only non-advanced mode (no speed cameras, etc)
    Roy

2005 Range Rover 4.4
    Any ideas for putting a PC in this? :)

Comment

i think SiRF is supported by advanced mode. Have you tried to set it to "your com port", "SiRF" and "38400" in MapMonkey? I can't say I'am experienced with this, but thats the settings I run =P Works for me...
      My carputer

Old one

Comment

damn, I missed this? since what version?!?!?! YUPPIE!
        Roy

2005 Range Rover 4.4

Comment

dont know since when =P Thougt it had always supported SiRF? :P (As long as mapmonkey supported it)
          My carputer

Old one

Comment

Originally posted by mick0uziel
            one thing that i was not able to accomplish is using the advance gps mode.
            why can't you use advance gps mode ?