Virtual switches

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Virtual switches

I'm not sure if this is where this needs to be posted, but if anyone is interested, I made some commands to act as virtual switches.

I needed three switches to turn my amp on/off and various other things, but it could be used for neons, radar detectors, etc... This works through the parallel port. If you look up a pin-out, you can determine how to wire it to the connector. (If I can find it, I'll post the site where I found help with wiring it up)

Before I post this, I want to state that I am not a programmer, so my code is by no means elegant.

First you need Inpout32.dll from http://www.logix4u.net/

Then I opened Guinos source code and added the following module:

Code:
    'Inp and Out declarations for port I/O using inpout32.dll.
    'By http://www.logix4u.net/

Public Declare Function Inp Lib "inpout32.dll" Alias "Inp32" _
        (ByVal PortAddress As Integer) _
        As Integer

Public Declare Sub Out Lib "inpout32.dll" Alias "Out32" _
        (ByVal PortAddress As Integer, _
        ByVal Value As Integer)

'Following written by Carlos Paiva
    'Downloaded from http://www.freevbcode.com/ShowCode.asp?ID=4500

Public Function CBin(ByVal Nr As Long, _
       Optional Precision As Integer = 3) As String
      Do Until Nr = 0
        CBin = CStr((Nr Mod 2)) + CBin
        Nr = Nr \ 2
      Loop
      CBin = Format(Val(CBin), String(Precision, "0"))
    End Function

'Following Function downloaded from http://www.vba-programmer.com/VB_Code/Binary_to_Decimal.txt

Public Function ConvertBinaryToDecimal(BinVal As String) As String
    Dim iVal#, temp#, i%, Length%

Length = Len(BinVal)
    For i = 0 To Length - 1
        temp = CInt(Mid(BinVal, Length - i, 1))
        iVal = iVal + (temp * (2 ^ i))
    Next i
    ConvertBinaryToDecimal = iVal
    End Function