My First Skin Concept: Windows 7

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My First Skin Concept: Windows 7

I am currently building a carputer for my STi, and I haven't really found anything that I like as far as FE skin's. I am a Engineer with a minor in computer programming, so I love Ride Runner and all its flexibility. I have been reading and learning about skinning for the past week, and have just now started building.

Here is my first concept for this skin Now there are going to be some changes, but I think you can get the idea of where I am going. This will be the home screen.

Here is the newest edit based on your suggestions

The arrows by the album are are going to allow the user to switch between Album Art, or a serious of visualizations. The play button indicates the style when the buttons are pressed. Also, I going to allow for more little modules similar to the Weather and Valentine 1 software. This will allow the user to customize their layout with various little modules, by clicking these modules, they will expand to full screen. Just give the user enough information on the lock screen to satisfy almost 95% of the requests, then if they want more, that is always an option. Thanks for all the input so far! It has really helped me find a direction.

OFF

I am trying to decide whether or not to include the transparent white underlay on the task bar. The above picture is without, the below picture is with let me know what you think. It's just a subtle change, but it really does change the feel of the page. I also forget to turn of the indicators in the picture above. I can assure they will be off like below :P

OFF white task bar:

ON:

Crap I just whipped this up and I think I already like it better
    Okay well what one should I continue on?? Concept #1 above, or Concept #2 below?